PhD Done

In June 8th of 2022, one of the most important moments of my career took place: defending my doctoral thesis and “receiving” my diploma as a PhD in Epidemiology!

This special moment sums up 4 fantastic and also difficult years. Fantastic for the opportunity to learn so much, the experience of living in the Netherlands, the first years of married life, and being able to work on what I am passionate about.

They were also difficult, for being so far away from my family, not being able to go back to Bolivia (my home country) during the pandemic, and the desperation of wanting to help and feeling powerless from being so far away.

This adventure became even more special, since I started writing my dissertation as soon as I found out I was pregnant, and so I got to submit my work at 7 months, one day before returning home.

I feel so lucky for having the chance to defend my thesis from home in La Paz, Bolivia, next to my 3-month-old baby, my husband and parents, and for sharing this special moment with my dear colleagues and loved ones around the world, thanks to virtuality.

It feels good to go back to the roots, where my dreams to become an epidemiologist began. Thanks wholeheartedly to those who are there, believing and trusting in me.

This thesis cover, with the beautiful illustration by Lucia Mayorga, inspired by Judea’s Pearl “ladder of causation”.

You can check out my (emotional) PhD defense here:

Related